E sixth/ninth piano chord - E6/9

The E sixth/ninth chord is a 5-note chord consisting of the notes E, G#, B, C# and F#.
You can see these notes highlighted in the interactive piano chart below.
The chord itself is often abbreviated as E6/9.

Interactive piano diagram for the E sixth/ninth chord

Piano keyboard displaying the E sixth/ninth chord with the notes FbECbBG#AbC#DbF#Gb

Extended Chords

Chords that are a superset of E6/9. The chords include more notes but always E, G#, B, C# and F#.

Reduced chords

Chords that are a subset of E6/9. These contain less notes but all of them are included in E6/9.

Scales with E6/9

Below you find all scales that include E6/9:

  • major
  • major blues
  • bebop
  • lydian
  • mixolydian
  • lydian dominant
  • bebop minor
  • bebop major
  • ichikosucho
  • composite blues
  • chromatic

E sixth/ninth piano chord chart image

In case you prefer a non-interactive variant of the chord chart, we've embedded a PNG image below that shows the notes for the the E6/9 chord. Feel free to save or share the image as needed.

Piano chord chart for the E sixth/ninth chord (E6/9). The notes E, G#, B, C# and F# are highlighted.