C major piano chord - CM

The C major chord is a 3-note chord consisting of the notes C, E and G.
You can see these notes highlighted in the interactive piano chart below.
The chord itself is often abbreviated as CM.

Interactive piano diagram for the C major chord

Piano keyboard displaying the C major chord with the notes B#CFbEG

Extended Chords

Chords that are a superset of CM. The chords include more notes but always C, E and G.

Reduced chords

Chords that are a subset of CM. These contain less notes but all of them are included in CM.

Scales with CM

Below you find all scales that include CM:

  • major pentatonic
  • major
  • major blues
  • bebop
  • lydian
  • mixolydian
  • ionian pentatonic
  • mixolydian pentatonic
  • lydian pentatonic
  • flat six pentatonic
  • scriabin
  • lydian dominant pentatonic
  • augmented
  • double harmonic lydian
  • mixolydian b6
  • lydian dominant
  • augmented heptatonic
  • lydian minor
  • phrygian dominant
  • harmonic major
  • double harmonic major
  • hungarian major
  • flamenco
  • lydian #9
  • purvi raga
  • spanish heptatonic
  • bebop minor
  • bebop major
  • ichikosucho
  • half-whole diminished
  • kafi raga
  • composite blues
  • messiaen's mode #3
  • chromatic

Related Topics

C major piano chord chart image

In case you prefer a non-interactive variant of the chord chart, we've embedded a PNG image below that shows the notes for the the CM chord. Feel free to save or share the image as needed.

Piano chord chart for the C major chord (CM). The notes C, E and G are highlighted.