E altered piano chord - Ealt7

The E altered chord is a 4-note chord consisting of the notes E, G#, D and F.
You can see these notes highlighted in the interactive piano chart below.
The chord itself is often abbreviated as Ealt7.

Interactive piano diagram for the E altered chord

Piano keyboard displaying the E altered chord with the notes FbEG#AbDE#F

Extended Chords

Chords that are a superset of Ealt7. The chords include more notes but always E, G#, D and F.

Scales with Ealt7

Below you find all scales that include Ealt7:

  • prometheus neopolitan
  • mystery #1
  • altered
  • phrygian dominant
  • oriental
  • flamenco
  • enigmatic
  • spanish heptatonic
  • half-whole diminished
  • chromatic

Related Topics

E altered piano chord chart image

In case you prefer a non-interactive variant of the chord chart, we've embedded a PNG image below that shows the notes for the the Ealt7 chord. Feel free to save or share the image as needed.

Piano chord chart for the E altered chord (Ealt7). The notes E, G#, D and F are highlighted.