E sixth piano chord - E6

The E sixth chord is a 4-note chord consisting of the notes E, G#, B and C#.
You can see these notes highlighted in the interactive piano chart below.
The chord itself is often abbreviated as E6.

Interactive piano diagram for the E sixth chord

Piano keyboard displaying the E sixth chord with the notes FbECbBG#AbC#Db

Extended Chords

Chords that are a superset of E6. The chords include more notes but always E, G#, B and C#.

Reduced chords

Chords that are a subset of E6. These contain less notes but all of them are included in E6.

Scales with E6

Below you find all scales that include E6:

  • major pentatonic
  • major
  • major blues
  • bebop
  • lydian
  • mixolydian
  • scriabin
  • lydian dominant
  • hungarian major
  • lydian #9
  • bebop minor
  • bebop major
  • ichikosucho
  • half-whole diminished
  • kafi raga
  • composite blues
  • chromatic

Related Topics

E sixth piano chord chart image

In case you prefer a non-interactive variant of the chord chart, we've embedded a PNG image below that shows the notes for the the E6 chord. Feel free to save or share the image as needed.

Piano chord chart for the E sixth chord (E6). The notes E, G#, B and C# are highlighted.